Schweikart wins CCMS

Once again beautiful weather greeted the racers at the Clinton County Motor Speedway on Friday August 9th as the Laurel Highlands IMCA Racesaver’s returned to the picturesque facility with 12 sprint cars signing in to race. In Heat #1 Jeff Weaver and Tylor Cochran brought the field to the green flag with Cochran getting the edge coming out of turn two to take the lead with 3rd place starter Dale Schweikart closing in before the race ended to mount a challenge but ran out of time. At the checkers it was Tylor Cochran taking the win with Schweikart second, Jeff Weaver third, Garrett Bard finishing fourth, Reed Thompson was fifth and Jake Gomola was sixth as a DNF. He experienced some problems during warm ups, tried to fix the problem but an apparent problem with the crankshaft breaking ended his night.


The Second Heat race had Dakota Schweikart and Scott Lutz bring the field to the green with the two battling for the top spot until 5th place starter Ken Duke, Jr. coming up to take the lead and turn in a strong run for the victory with Dakota Schweikart taking the runner up spot and Scott Lutz copped the third spot, Ian Cumens had another good run to nail down the fourth spot while Dylan Proctor got the fifth place laurels and Dave Guss, Jr. was sixth.


For the 25-lap Gary’s Motor Mart feature six drivers from the heat races redrew for starting spots with Ian Cumens and Dale Schweikart on the front row. At the drop of the green the front row drivers headed to turn one with Dale Schweikart showing some power grabbed the lead and took off with Cumens giving chase with Jeff Weaver, Tylor Cochran, Scott Lutz and Dakota Schweikart in pursuit, these drivers were in the next two rows. As it has happened several times this year at Clinton County the main event went green to checker which allowed Dale Schweikart to stretch his lead to almost a straight away as the race wore on. Due to the previous feature race win by Ken Duke, Jr. he was required to start in the handicap spot of 11th but was quickly working his way to the front as Scott Lutz was slowly reeling in the high flying Schweikart but ran out of laps. The previous feature race on July 26th saw at one point the top three running so close a blanket could have been thrown over them but on this night the Schweikart mount was dialed in. Also on this night it was the Lenny Stroud, Jr. Memorial Race and the Laurel Highlands racers were proud to be part of that tribute. The finishing order for the feature is as follows: 1. 78 Dale Schweikart, 2, 33 Scott Lutz, 3. 67 Ken Duke, Jr., 4. 52 Jeff Weaver, 5. 79 Ian Cumens, 6. 19 Tylor Cochran, 7. 95 Garrett Bard, 8. 78c Dakota Schweikart, 9. 92 Dylan Proctor, 10. R6 Reed Thompson, 11. 72 Dave Guss, Jr. (DNS) 4J Jake Gomola.


The Laurel Highlands racers return to Clinton County again on Friday August 16th for more great Gary’s Motor Mart Racesaver sprint car action. A thank you as always to Kelly McCahan for providing the results of all the race finishes.