A picture perfect night and great weather greeted the Laurel Highlands Sprint Car Series IMCA Racesaver’s to the picturesque Clinton County Motor Speedway on Friday June 28th as a nice crowd of race fans was also on hand. 13 sprint cars signed in to compete with trouble plaguing Ian Cumens who made the long haul from the Downington, Pa. area. His #79 had a fresh engine and had run fine at the shop but when pushed off for hot laps the car briefly fired then shut off, several other attempts were made to get the car running but there was no oil pressure so Ian and his crew called it a night without ever turning a lap. The first 8-lap heat race saw Ken Duke, Jr. and Ryan Lynn bring the field to the green with Duke taking the lead with Lynn in pursuit, along with the Schweikart’s, Dale and Dakota and Dylan Proctor. The race track was in great shape allowing for some competitive action as Ken Duke copped the win with Ryan Lynn second, Dakota Schweikart was third with Dale finishing fourth, Dylan Proctor fifth and Jim Kennedy sixth. The margin of victory was 6.513 for Duke at an average speed of 86.861 he also had the best lap time of 13.604 for a speed of 88.121 mph.


In the second 8-lap heat race Colton Hoover and Scott Lutz brought the field to the green, this was Colton’s first start of the year at CCMS. Scott Lutz jumped into the lead with Hoover, Tylor Cochran, Jeff Weaver, Dave Guss, Jr. in pursuit. As the laps ticked by Jeff Weaver took over second spot with Tylor Cochran, Dave Guss, Jr. and Hoover swapping positions. At the checkers it was Scott Lutz taking the win with Jeff Weaver in second, Cochran finished third while Guss and Hoover finished fourth and fifth. Scheduled to start this heat was Reed Thompson but his car was missing during hot laps so he and his crew worked diligently trying to find the problem. A borrowed mag was installed and that seemed to helped as Reed would be able to make the feature. The margin of victory for Lutz was 3.806 for an average speed of 85.001 and he also had the best lap time of 13.885 at a speed of 86.338 mph.


The 20-lap Gary’s Motor Mart feature had 6 cars, top 3 from each heat redraw with Dakota Schweikart getting the #1 pill and Scott Lutz the #2 pill. Rows two and three were comprised of Ryan Lynn and Tylor Cochran along with Ken Duke, Jr. and Jeff Weaver. At the waive of the green Lutz jumped to the lead with Dakota in pursuit and stayed with the Jonestown Jet for most of the event but eventually Lutz was able to stretch out about a straight away lead as the event went green to checker. Young Schweikart did a fine job garnering a runner up spot as Ken Duke, Jr. was staying with the second place car and there was plenty of position swapping behind the top three as the race track stayed decentĀ  while the laps clicked down. At the checkers it was Scott Lutz taking win number two on the season as he copped the main event at Hesston on June 8th. The rundown for the event is as follows, 1. 33 Scott Lutz, 2. 78c Dakota Schweikart, 3. 67 Ken Duke, Jr., 4. 19 Tylor Cochran, 5. 78 Dale Schweikart, 6. 26 Ryan Lynn, 7. 92 Dylan Proctor, 8. 52 Jeff Weaver, 9. R6 Reed Thompson, 10. 72 Dave Guss, Jr., 11. 107 Colton Hoover, 12. 7 Jim Kennedy. The margin of victory for Lutz was 4.303 at an average speed of 78.429, he also had the best lap at 14.509 with an average speed of 82.625.


The Laurel Highlands Sprint Car Series would like to send out a huge THANK YOU to Travis Emig one of the many sponsors for the big 40-lap Northeast Ultimate Super Late Model Series event on this night, Travis gave out some extra cash to the winners of the other divisions for their main events and Travis gave $100.00 to the sprint car winner Scott Lutz. Don’t forget the Independence Day weekend is here and the LHSS has a three race weekend on tap with a return to the Clinton County Motor Speedway on Friday July 5th, the first ever visit for the IMCA Racesavers at the big track at the Latrobe Speedway on Saturday July 6th and concludes the weekend at the Fabulous Bedford Speedway on Sunday July 8th. As always the LHSS appreciates the cooperation and help from the race tracks we compete at for providing the heat race and feature race results and we wanna thank Kelly McCahan at Clinton County for her help at each race there.