Kenawell Gets First Win!

Despite the weather forecast for a wet weekend the Laurel Highlands Sprint Car Series rolled into the Dog Hollow Speedway for their third appearance at this track on Saturday August 11th. A thank you to the 15 sprint car teams who made the journey to be greeted by a rather nice day and evening. For heat race number one this is the finishing order: 1. Jonathon Jones, 2. Tyler Denochick, 3. Reed Thompson, 4. Ryan Lynn, 5. Randy Sterling, 6. Kyle Ganoe, 7. Andy Cavanaugh, 8. Ray Sheetz.

Heat Race number two finished this way: 1. Scott Lutz, 2. Ron Aurand, 3. Stevie Kenawell, 4. Dylan Shatzer, 5. Bob Garvey, Jr., 6. Jim Kennedy, 7. Josh Spicer.

The 20 lap feature saw a few cautions slow the field however it was an exciting main event with 6th place starter Stevie Kenawell picking up his first ever sprint car feature win. The youngster from East Freedom has come into his own since breaking into driving around 2014, he showed great poise once he took the lead to drive a steady race in a car that was “hooked up”. Finishing second was Jonathon Jones who also was “dialed in” and was in a position to take the lead should the opportunity arise. The action was constant with pole sitter Scott Lutz in the mix as was Ryan Lynn and Ron Aurand. The finishing order for the feature is as follows:

1. 17K Stevie Kenawell, 2. 12J Jonathon Jones, 3. 33 Scott Lutz, 4. 26 Ryan Lynn, 5. 86 Ron Aurand, 6. R6 Reed Thompson, 7. 00s Randy Sterling, 8. 75 Dylan Shatzer, 9. 0 Kyle Ganoe, 10. 11x Bob Garvey, Jr., 11. X7 Andy Cavanaugh, 12. 99 Ray Sheetz, 13. 6 Tyler Denochick, 14. 7 Jim Kennedy, 15. 71 Josh Spicer.