Ian Cumens Wins CCMS

The Laurel Highlands IMCA Racesavers made their final appearance of 2019 at the Clinton County Motor Speedway on September 20th with 13 sprint cars signing in to compete. Making his first ever Laurel Highlands start was Mike Yonkoskie of Shamokin, Pa. who did a good job on his maiden voyage. Despite the chilly temperatures after the sun went down the racing action was hot as for the fourth straight race at Clinton County the feature event went green to checker!!! There we no cautions in the heat races and within those four race events only two cautions were experienced, and the drivers deserve a thank you for a great driving exhibition. In the first heat race it was Tylor Cochran taking the win from his second spot starting position as he held off Reed Thompson who was second while Garrett Bard had a solid run to finish third with Dale Schweikart taking the fourth spot, finishing out the rest of the field Scott Lutz was fifth, Jim Kennedy sixth and Mike Yonkoskie seventh. Reed Thompson had the quick time of the event with a speed of 86.108 with a 13.922 lap time.


The second heat event was won by Dylan Proctor who also started from the second position, he ran a smooth race and held off pole position starter Ken Duke, Jr. who nailed down second place, Ian Cumens finished third and he was charging hard running in the high groove as he went from his sixth starting spot to third before one lap was in the books. Dave Guss, Jr. had a great run too as he finished in the fourth spot with Jeff Weaver finishing in the fifth spot while Dakota Schweikart finished sixth. He has been struggling the past couple of weeks with mechanical issues. Dylan Proctor turned in the best lap at 13.488 at a speed of 88.879.


The Gary’s Motor Mart feature event was cut back to 20 laps to help save time and allow all divisions to get their races in before the curfew. Tylor Cochran and Dale Schweikart brought the field to the green flag with Cochran taking the lead but later in the race dropped out. Ian Cumens who started in the fourth spot was driving like he stole his ride as he eventually inherited the lead and checked out reeling in some impressive moves as he began to lap cars.  Toward the end of the event Dylan Proctor who started fifth began to close some distance on the high flying Cumens but with no cautions Proctor had his hands full as Ken Duke, Jr. began to move up to close in on him. When its your night everything comes together and Ian Cumens who has been a steady weekly runner at Clinton County this year, turned in an all star performance to cop his first ever main event win with the LHSS. The finishing order is as follows: 1. 79 Ian Cumens, 2. 92 Dylan Proctor, 3. 67 Ken Duke, Jr., 4. 33 Scott Lutz, 5. 78 Dale Schweikart, 6. 52 Jeff Weaver, 7. R6 Reed Thompson, 8. 72 Dave Guss, Jr., 9. 7 Jim Kennedy, 10. 19 Tylor Cochran (DNF), 11. 95 Garrett Bard (DNF), 12 67m Mike Yonkoskie (DNF), 13. 78c Dakota Schweikart (DNF). Ian turned in the best lap time with a 13.551 with a speed of 88.466 and his margin of victory was 2.072 seconds. The LHSS would like to thank all of the drivers and teams who participated with us at the Clinton County in 2019 and a thank you to all those at the track who made it possible for the IMCA Racesavers to provide sprint car racing. As always a thank you to Kelly McCahan for providing the detailed stats of our races.