Lutz wins CCMS

The Laurel HIghlands Sprint Car Series wrapped up the regular racing season on Friday September 14th at the Clinton County Motor Speedway with 19 sprint cars signing in to race. As always a huge thank your to everyone for your support on this night and throughout the year. Rain has plagued our series at CCMS in 2018 with 6 of the scheduled 12 races rained out. The track crew did a fantastic job getting the track ready after heavy rains the week before causing a cancellation for the Sept, 7th event. Also rain forced a cancellation of the co-sanctioned event with the Pa Sprint Series at the Path Valley Speedway on the 8th. For the final night of racing there were three heat races and in heat one Dale Schweikart and Scott Lutz put on a good show as John Walp had a good run as well. The finishing order was: 1. Dale Schweikart, 2. Scott Lutz, 3. John Walp, 4. Jim Kennedy, 5. Randy Sterling, 6. Christian Rumsey who was making his first start with Laurel Highlands. Scheduled to start on the pole was Ray Sheetz who put a different car together after destroying his regular mount at Bedford over the Labor Day weekend. Steering issues prevented him from making the call but he did get it fixed up enough to take a few laps in the feature.

In the second heat Ken Duke, Jr. drove a strong race with Dakota Schweikart giving chase, at the finish it was Duke taking the win followed by Schweikart, 3rd went to Jeff Weaver, 4th Zach Newlin, 5th Ryan Lynn, 6th Dave Guss, Jr.

The third heat was a good battle with Kyle Smith, Kyle Ganoe and Tylor Cochran dueling each other for 8 laps and at the finish it was Smith taking the win over Ganoe with Tylor Cochran 3rd, with Jake Gomola finishing 4th, Reed Thompson was 5th and Fred Arnold was 6th.

The 20-lap feature had Tylor Cochran and Scott Lutz bringing the field to the green with Lutz getting a good run to take the lead. The Jonestown veteran paced the field with 4th place starter Ken Duke, Jr. working his way to second and was closing the gap as the race went on and actually pulled close to Lutz but he was dialed in and ran a smooth race. Jake Gomola turned in a great performance as he settled into the third spot. Kyle Smith who started 11th methodically worked his way through the field to take 5th spot but got no further as the checkered flag waived, the finishing order is as follows: 1. 33 Scott Lutz, 2. 67 Ken Duke, Jr., 3. 4J Jake Gomola, 4. 3G Jeff Weaver, 5. 17 Kyle Smith, 6. 78s Dakota Schweikart, 7. 5 John Walp, 8. 78 Dale Schweikart, 9. 26 Ryan Lynn, 10. 19 Tylor Cochran, 11. 1R Christian Rumsey, 12. 7 Jim Kennedy, 13. 11z Zach Newlin, 14. 00s Randy Sterling, 15. 72 Dave Guss, Jr., 16. R6 Reed Thompson, 17. 88 Fred Arnold, 18. 0 Kyle Ganoe, 19. 99 Ray Sheetz.